Save up to $30/mo. on your internet bill when you enroll in the Affordable Connectivity Program!


Recognizing Extraordinary Examples of Leadership

The REEL Kids Program

Since 2001, HTC has had the pleasure of creating a connection and relationship with our Horry County Schools through the HTC REEL Kids program by honoring students who demonstrate leadership excellence while overcoming life challenges. In 2022 the REEL Kids program expanded to include Georgetown and Marion Counties.

Schools in all three counties, primary through high school, are encouraged to participate by nominating an extraordinary student for the 2022-2023 award, and we are excited to share the inspirational stories of 68 students!

“When we receive the nominations from the schools and read about the hardships these young people have endured, we are humbled,” said Carlton Lewis, HTC Chief Executive Officer. “These REEL Kids have fought through the loss of loved ones, physical disabilities, learning disabilities, disease, emotional problems, abuse, neglect, abandonment, and so much more. The most remarkable fact is that the REEL Kids have overcome what some would have seen as stumbling blocks.”

As recipients of this award, each REEL Kid will be spotlighted in a video. They will appear on Facebook every Saturday and Sunday from January through April. You can also view them below. Additionally, they will receive a ceremonial Olympic-style award, prizes and gifts at a celebration event that will be held in the spring.

Please bookmark this page, as new videos will be available throughout the next few months, so you can learn more about what makes each and every one of these kids REEL Kids. You can visit our YouTube page to see last year’s student videos and a highlight from the Awards event.